Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The EYFS framework has been produced by the government and early years professionals for all early years providers to follow.

There are seven areas of learning and development which we use when we are observing, assessing and planning for your child's individual needs.

These areas of learning and development enable us to constantly challenge your child helping them to develop and succeed.

We know young children will settle into a new environment once they feel safe and secure, so at Little Learners, with the aid of their "key person" we make this transition easier.
Your child's key person will get to know you and your child, as it is important to build a positive relationship with you both!

We offer a caring, fun and progressive child centred approach.
Every child has their own learning journey where we record their development and achievements and our observations.

Their folders contain photographs and artwork; you are welcome to look at your child's journal at any time.

From birth learning takes place through the senses and exploration, our dedicated team strive to offer a varied and well planned play based approach to learning and development.
An approach that encourages child led activities alongside practitioner initiated activities.

Within the EYS framework the 7 areas of learning are split into two parts:

1. The 3 prime areas which are for all children and the main focus of our planning and activities for babies and children under 3 years

2. The 4 specific areas which are mostly used for children over 3 but are also relevant for the younger ones: These are the 3 Prime areas:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional (PSED): this is about how confident your child is, how they make friends, share, turn take and how they manage their feelings and behaviour

  2. Physical development: how your child moves and uses gross and fine motor skills, can manage self-care independently and learns about healthy living

  3. Communication and Language: How your child listens and pays attention, understands what is being said, communicates with others and develops speech and vocabulary.

The 4 specific areas are:

  1. Literacy: how your child enjoys books and reading, likes to mark make, learns to write and starts to explore letters and phonics.

  2. Mathematics: how your child learns about counting, numbers explores measures, capacities, space, shapes, and opposites,recognises the passing of time.

  3. Understanding the World: how your child finds out about nature and the world around them, talks about people and their local community and learns about differences and similarities.

  4. Art and Design: how your child enjoys being creative, uses colour to express themselves, sings, dances and makes music.

The EYFS emphasises the importance of the unique child and the importance of the family in a child's education and the need for each child to become a responsible part of their society.

You are the primary educator of your child, it is important to us that you are happy with everything we do, with effective sharing of information we will work together to ensure your child gets the best possible start.

To find out more information visit Ofsted:


Free Childcare

Free early learning gives children the best start in life. Through learning and playing with other children in a safe and structured environment, they'll have a head start when they begin school. To find out more about Free Entitlement Funding, please go to parent's information.

Opening hours

Our nursery and crèche are open from 7.00am to 6.00pm, Monday to Friday.
Ofsted report 2013 Local Offer Cheshire West and Chester Becky Adlington’s Swim Stars Studio Sports Immersion Spanish classes fostering children's language skills Crèche facility and day nursery Free Childcare